Book details


Available formats:


Annie wasn’t raised Amish, but when her mother doesn’t return from a trip, a short stay with her Amish neighbors turns into a new life. Annie finds love and security with her new Amish family, although troubles are on their way. Her new sister Lucy is jealous of the attention Annie receives, and Annie has a hard time adjusting to Amish customs. Will she always feel like an outsider, or will she finally discover her true home?

“This authentic series has much to offer readers about the ups and downs of growing up plain. A great choice for a family read-aloud.”—Suzanne Woods Fisher, coauthor of The Adventures of Lily Lapp series

Book 9 of the Ellie’s People: An Amish Family Saga series.

The nine books of the Ellie’s People series, beloved classics among young and old readers in Amish and Mennonite communities, are now available for today’s reader. Author Mary Christner Borntrager grew up Amish and based her novels on events in her Amish childhood. Fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series will love learning to know spunky Ellie and her friends and family.

What’s new in the Ellie’s People series:

  • Pennsylvania Dutch glossary at the end of each book
  • A sample chapter from the next book in the series
  • Language and examples updated for today’s readers







Purchase Now At: